NYC Wedding Cake Tasting Parties at Sugar Flower Cake Shop

If you haven’t already heard, we are hosting our very first tasting party at our new shop tomorrow.  I’ve had busy bees buzzing about the kitchen preparing – for sure, they’ve even made some local NYC rooftop honey buttercream!

Tomorrow’s tasting is super full, but others are coming up in the future.  This event is by invitation only, so you have to go through a couple of steps before being invited.  First, check out the invite page here.  Then, click “Contact the Host” on the right side of the page.  You are welcome to skip these two steps and call me directly:  212/993-6441 (note our new phone number – how cool is it that I FINALLY have a 212 number – THANK YOU Rainbow Broadband!!!)

Once we’ve connected and determined that it makes sense for you to swing by, you will receive a special invitation where you can RSVP.  The cake tasting parties are by invitation only.

For tomorrow’s event, I have enlisted the help of some of my most trusted friends in the business.  Here’s a quick bit about who they are and why I love them:

Tammy Golson Events – Tammy is the perfect planner for a foodie, from private parties through weddings here and abroad.  She has a degree in hospitality and instituted a culinary program in Edinburgh.  Every time we get together to eat – no, I should say dine – it is a delightful experience, just being able to soak in her knowledge of food and service.

DJ Gatsby – So, I was at a business meeting a week ago or so and DJ (aka, Jon Simon, but he will ALWAYS be “DJ” to me!) was also in attendance.  He had to address this mix of consultants, service providers and craftsmen/women.  Needless to say, it was an eclectic group!  Well, in just 45 seconds, DJ absolutely WOWED us with a quick rap, showing off his charm, wittiness and ability to work the room.  Needless to say, the entire group was on their feet at the end!

Chellise Michael Photography – I can’t really call Chellise a “photographer”.  When I see her in action, it constantly amazes me how comfortable she is with her clients.  She is at once in the zone professionally, yet super carefree in her interactions.  Somehow, she is able to get her clients to do things that they would NEVER do in real life:  Jumping into a swimming pool with your wedding dress on?  Climbing up into a treehouse?  Sneaking into an abandoned building?  All have made for interesting backdrops for her work.

Sharon Becker, sb beauty – Sharon recently made up my face for an event.  She works quickly, yet take the time to be informative, offering advice normally only my best friend could get away with (apparently, I need to grow in my eyebrows a little bit…)  Sharon’s work comes from within.  I heard her say recently, “I just LOVE doing makeup!”  This is rare – so many artists lose touch with what they are doing when it becomes a “job”.  Knowing Sharon has been a delightful experience.  I admire her chutzpah as she is branching out on her own!

Tomorrow, we’ll be able to “ask the experts” and see what hot tips, trends and ideas they each have.  Should be fun!

One Trackback to “NYC Wedding Cake Tasting Parties at Sugar Flower Cake Shop”

Leave a comment