Wednesday Wedding Cakes – Inspiration: Art

I was very fortunate to work on an exciting project in 2010, contributing to the cake section in the Fall issue of Martha Stewart Weddings Magazine.  Each cake design was inspired by art, from Van Gogh through Pollack and even went back to a painting by an old Dutch master, for which I created gigantic blooms that seemed to take over the cake.  If you’ve seen the picture, you can barely even tell that there’s a cake!

Working on that cake certainly inspired me, as works of art frequently do.  Whether it’s a painting or a sculpture, sometimes there are tiny details that can be created in sugar or something realistic that can be replicated.  When looking at a piece of art, I am often truly inspired by the colors, either the ones that the artist chooses to put together or the absence of specific color.

In keeping with the Dutch Masters theme, I wanted to share another cake with you.  The dark chocolate buttercream on the outside of this cake has been textured as if it were spread with a palette knife and the flowers are arranged in large groupings trailing from top to bottom as in a rich still life.

Thank you to Steven Gorgos for the use of this photo.  I just love how he captured the dark edginess of the venue while allowing the flowers to stay bright.

PS – Over the coming weeks and months, I hope to have regular posts to the blog about recurring topics.  Perhaps you’ll get a sense of the pattern at some point.  I was supposed to put this post out to the world yesterday (it was Wednesday, so I figure I should talk about Weddings on Wednesdays – I like alliterations).  Kindly forgive the lateness!  If you want to read more about what Sugar Flower Cake Shop does in the world of weddings, stay tuned until next Wednesday…

3 Responses to “Wednesday Wedding Cakes – Inspiration: Art”

  1. Go Amy! You are an amazing success and so are your sugar flowers and cakes –

  2. Love, love, love your blog. Couldn’t wait to tell my members on Meetup. Much success, Amy!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment